3am

It’s 3am and one of those nights when there’s no point
lying waiting for those sheep to carry you piggy-back to the Land
of Nod (I can never say that without thinking of those two children
succumbing to the Atlantic in the doomed Titanic).

I promised an update with each chapter of Disciplines of a Godly Man. I’ve been reading it but just not pent the energy to sit down and write about the individual chapters. But I will say that Hughes has helped me out immensely over the past few weeks. His book along with Stuart
Olyott’s series ‘The Aspects of Spirituality’ has made my 2011
already. I skipped my daily readings today (lack of organisation)
but I’ve learnt that taking time out to read God’s word and to
spend time with him in pray is so important. Not just through books
and sermons but through my own realisation. It just makes more
sense the more I read it.

I’ve found myself thinking about things a
lot lately. I want to square up to why I believe the gospel. I
believe it to be true, but why? Is it simply a rut that I’m in, do
I do what I do everyday not out of love for my Redeemer but out of
routine, out of life, ‘I do it cos I’ve always done it!’ They’re
questions I need to answer because I insult everyone around me if I
don’t have good enough answers for their questions. Hmm.

Leave a comment