The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Such a challenge for me. I can be so flipping petty sometimes which doesn’t affect only me, it says something about God and to my friends. Can I agree with Paul? Can I honestly say that I am content in “whatever” situation I am in. No! But how do I do it? Verse 13 is a real encouragement, praise God it doesn’t rely on us! It’s God who strengthens us.

Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say, “It is well, it is well with my soul.”

God help me.

2 responses to “The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment”

  1. Sam F says :

    I don’t believe we can be content in every single situation, since a feeling of contentment can’t be produced simply by force of will. It’s true that there’s a lesson there about appreciating what we have and not concentrating on the negative and so on. But permanent contentment, even when your feet are cold and you can’t find your keys and the laundry is piling up and your pencil nib just broke, isn’t possible. And you certainly won’t be more content if you’re feeling guilty all the time about not being content enough.

  2. newfroot says :

    I agree! But from what I gather Paul isn’t talking about being happy all the time. You can be content with what you have, but still be frustrated, angry and sad about certain things, look at Jesus as an example, he certainly wasn’t on top of the world, but that’s different from contentment – Christian’s aren’t people who are happy all the time, and you know that’s true! About guilt, that last verse shows why we don’t have to feel guilt at all because it doesn’t rely on us. This isn’t Paul giving a reason to make us feel guilty (because what would be the point), this is him encouraging them to have a reliance on him in all situations. I would give you references but I’m currently in Aberystwyth library without a Bible!

Leave a Reply

