Yet you did not return to Me

It’s outstandingly stupid to repeat the same mistake time and time again. History is there as a warning sign reading “BEWARE!” in big bold print, yet what do we do?

I’ve had first hand experience of this since becoming a Christian. These two chapters in Amos describe the people of Israel, God had given them so many chances to turn from their wicked ways and flee to Him. Yet no matter what they did not turn back to God – and as God Himself says;

You only have I known
of all the families of the earth;
therefore I will punish you
for all your iniquities.

God was serious. His special people had disobeyed Him too many times. Imagine how the people felt as they heard God’s word through Amos the shepherd! They must have been gripped with fear, this Almighty God, the great I AM had decided their destruction, had set his heart on punishing Israel for their actions against Him.

It’s a terrifying thought for us as Christians, and I am speaking to myself first. The sins that I commit scare me to the core – I am a Christian yet I keep going back to my old idols, the idols that wrapped heavy chains around my neck and made me sacrifice what I loved. There is no rational explanation – it is utter stupidity.

The last few verses truly strike a cord within my soul. My sin that is still left over can take over like in the story of Mansoul – that great city described by Bunyan – but it can’t stay there. If needs be, God will take drastic action.

12“Therefore thus I will do to you, O Israel;
because I will do this to you,
prepare to meet your God, O Israel!”

13For behold, he who forms the mountains and creates the wind,
and declares to man what is his thought,
who makes the morning darkness,
and treads on the heights of the earth—
the LORD, the God of hosts, is his name!

Am I going to keep on sinning knowing this? Can I serve two masters?

Leave a Reply

