How To Deal With Doubt

This was in my church’s notice sheet this week and to be honest I desperately needed it – God is so good! I haven’t changed anything in it and I hope it helps you as much as it did me.

John Duncan was a great Scottish Biblical scholar who lived in the 19th century. Despite being a deeply godly man he struggled all his life with doubts about his personal salvation. In these words he tells us how he learned to respond to those doubts:

‘For myself, I cannot always come to Christ direct, but I can always come by sin. Sin is the handle by which I get to Christ, I take a verse in which God has put Christ and sin together. I cannot always put my finger on Christ and say, "Christ belongs to me;" but I can put my finger on sin and say, "Sin belongs to me;" I take that word, for instance, "The Son of Man is come to save that which was lost." Yes, lost, lost – I’m lost; I put my finger on that word and say, "I’m the lost one; I’m lost." Well, I find that "The Son of Man is come to save the lost;" and I cry out "What God has joined together let no man put asunder." ‘

Here is a prayer for all of us to borrow;

24 Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, “I believe; help my unbelief!”

Mark 9:24(ESV)

Leave a Reply

