Gwanwyn (Spring)

Gwanwyn is on its way and us heliophiliacs are finally feeling good about life again! Living in Wales, especially, the weather doesn’t allow more than a couple of hours of sunshine a month. SAD’s been kicking in and keeping to good exercise just seems like a cold shower in the snow. It’s half term next week and I hope to make the most out of it. I’ve already planned a little route that’s about 18 miles, nothing spectacular but just to get the ball rolling.

Fair play, I have been making some sort of effort over the past few days, I’ve finally dropped the Christmas turkey and have been swimming, running, walking, skipping, cycling like never before. The greatest feeling that I’ve discovered over the past week is coming out of the leisure centre after swimming your arms off, with the wind in my hair, the sun brightening my face, the smell of freshness and the feeling of gratification for working hard the past hour.

As well as sorting out my physical self, I’ve also been trying to build up my spiritual self. This involves aiming to read God’s Word everyday, praying and listening getting to know the difficult doctrines! At the moment, I’m looking at the Doctrine of Sin, listening to Wayne Grudem explain his massive work, Systematic Theology – a massive 1264 pages of sound Christian doctrine. It can be pretty tough at times, but “through prayer and supplication” it’s slowly being revealed to me by God.

I think the toughest area for me at the moment is living in a society that totally disregards the Word, but worse than that, living in a society of Christians that are asleep! Totally unaware of their surroundings and sleeping soundly to the tune of their own lives – “I’m alright Jack!”. The Bible tells us that life is nothing compared to the grand scheme of things:

“Yet you do not know [the least thing] about what may happen tomorrow. What is the nature of your life? You are [really] but a wisp of vapor (a puff of smoke, a mist) that is visible for a little while and then disappears [into thin air].” — James 4:14

We’re not on this earth for long, and God has put Christians on this earth to spread his Gospel. “Why can’t he do it himself?” Nobody knows! Even the greatest Christians asked “Why me? I’m a failure!” As Christians we need to stop making excuses like Moses did, and get off our backsides because time is just too short.

Hope I brightened up your day!

Dan

Leave a Reply

