Writing is Tough

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all. I’m sitting down with my laptop quietly thinking of an appropriate way to string a sentence. I’m currently writing a book and it really taking it out of me. Along with many others, writing has always been an interest of mine. I still haven’t decided on a correct title that speaks of what the books about. You promise you’ll buy it if you ever come across it?! That is, if it ever gets on the shelf… I think the hardest part is trying not to make it sound like so many successful stories and it’s so annoying when people nick your ideas, but then that in itself spurrs you on to write something better, something great and more fanciful that the rubbish the other author’s come up with.

Anywho, I’m sitting here with my giant Cymru Wales Starbucks mug, the size of at least two cups of coffee ad I’m in my element – dw i wrth fy mordd. I’m currently typing up my course, all about the Short Twentieth Century (as Mr. Hobsbawm likes to call it), from the aftermath of World War One to the end of the Cold War Era. All interesting stuff, once you get to read into depth. The stuff spoken in education is never good enough, it doesn’t excite (unless you’ve got a particularly exceptional teacher) and I’ve found the best way is to just read around the subject. The more you do it, the better it seems to be, honestly it’s true.

What to write. I don’t know. Hmm.. I will get back to you when I’ve worked it out. It’s a long slog, but it’ll be worth it in the end.

Goodbye for now,

Dan
Leave a Reply

