Fear of Rejection

The world we as Christians live is, is not one that wants us. If it could, it would rid us all and be done with us. We are the ones that ‘get in the way’ who are narrow-minded and blind to the the ways of the new millenium.

It’s hard sometimes to keep my eyes on Jesus when everyone and everything around me seems to tell me to do otherwise. Friends laugh and ask why I believe such rubbish. Sometimes, I look at it from their point of view and I can see why they think of me and what God has shown me in such a way. It is literally “folly” to believe what the Bible believes, according to the world:

“The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned.”

1 Corinthians 2:14

The whole of 1 Corinthians 2 descibes how understanding only comes through the revelation from God. So no amount of argument or reasoning will bring someone to the Bible’s viewpoint, only God can work that miracle.

Reading over what I’ve just written may make you think that I’m a radical, crazy Christian and who knows, maybe I am. I don’t know, the world around just seems to be changing constantly, whereas was the Bible says is figuratively set in stone. I think that my biggest worry is losing credability in world that denies the Bible, God and the Gospel, everything is proclaimed as childish and unreasonable in today’s society.

Well, the truth is, the Bible has never really walked hand-in-hand with society, the world has always hated true Christianity, and I say true with as much fundimentalism as possible. The devil as brought about rival doctrines that have plagued the true meaning of God’s Word causing huge amounts of misconception in today’s society. Is the Bible relevant to today’s society?

There are many answers that could be given, all you need to do is type in Google and you’ll have a thousands of answers to wade through. It’s a contentious one and one that needs to be addressed more openly and without bias.

The best answer that I’ve discovered is from Lee Strobel, a prominent writer from the States who has spent much of his life, finding the truth about Christianity, the revelency of the Bible video can be found here and gives such a good insight – alot of his books are exactly the same.

I dunno, I want to be strong in my opinions, I think my greatest fear is that I will be rejected by the world, friends and family. Yet thinking about it, that it what Jesus says will happen. Just as he was rejected from the world, so will I – there is nothing to fear!

“Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

Matthew 5:11-12
I don’t want to be a mediocre Christian, I want to be close to God’s word with no amount of compromise from the world. Is this narrow-minded? Is this really what I should be doing? I am decided, in the end it is either God’s way or the highway. There is plenty of evidence that suggests God’s Word to be true and precise and correct, all I have to do is read books by the likes of Lee Strobel. I think in this period of doubt and self-reflection, I need to get my head straight, not allow my emotions to overide me and to look the solid foundation of Jesus Christ.

Christian values are not liked, there is no doubt about that. They haven’t been liked ever since Jesus said them just under two millenia ago. What the world sees as folly will always be seen as folly to them, no matter how much we debate, it is only through the inspiration of God that can lead someone to salvation.

I am not a person who has gone “with it” and followed the Bible with no qualms – that would be folly. However, I’ve come to a conclusion after many years, so why should I go against that now?

No, logic is like a cup of freezing water, the Bible makes sense and I don’t say that out of ignorance, why should I, what is there to gain if I do believe in error?

It’s been a bit of a ramble today, I just thought I’d say what I said, so I can forget about it. I trust that there are plenty of intelligent Christians who believe the same and have a sure foundation. For the mean time I will trust their judgement, but not for long. I need to continue judging things for myself. Who said the road would be easy, not Jesus

Sorry it’s been a bit serious (well it always is!) today, hopefully the next time I write it’ll be a bit more light-hearted and more to the point. But until then, food for thought!

Over and out…

Dan

Leave a Reply

