Today


Does it ever perturb you at how easy it is to sin? Lately I haven’t been able to stop. It angers me at how weak and feeble a Christian I am. And the question just pops to your head, “why did I do it?”

The Devil is so smart, and he knows you very well. He knows where you’re weak, and he knows where you’re strong. Does that scare you? Well, it should a little bit. He’s planed out your day, he’s planned where to take you, what you’ll see etc.

However, there is one person I’m forgetting all about – GOD. God has also planned your day out and unlike the Devil – God’s plan will DEFINATELY go ahead. As I’ve said, we should feel a bit of fear knowing the power the devil has – but that shouldn’t cause a trauma. We have someone who controls everything, who’s plans never fails, who knows you better than the devil. He is the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. He is all-powerful, all-knowing, mighty God. We should cling to him and the cross for our salvation.

“Easier said than done” you say, and yes, I agree. This is where I struggle most. Please don’t think of me as been-there-done-that person, I’m a been-there-and-still-there person, I’m still struggling and I probably find it as hard as you, maybe even harder. “For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want” (Galatians 5:17)Even Paul found himself in the middle of sin;

“We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.”
(Romans 7:14-20)

But as I’ve said before, this is where the power of God’s family and grace comes in. YOU ARE NOT ALONE. Let me say it again, I don’t think you quite understood me, YOU ARE NOT ALONE. (I’m using lots of Caps today!). “We all stumble in many ways. If anyone is never at fault in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to keep his whole body in check.” James 3:2

Plenty of Christians struggle with lust (be it hetero- or homosexual), gambling, anger, worrying, hate, whatever. As a Christian you are in God’s family. We shouldn’t shy away from these facts, keep them hush-hush. That’s what Satan wants – but we don’t want what Satan wants, we want to God wants.

There are loads of great resources at your aid. First an foremost – God should be your number 1 call. No one else. First, you should cry out to God for help. Don’t talk to anyone else. Just to God. God hates seeing us going to someone else for help before Him – even our pastor! God will the guide you the rest of the way.

There are plenty of websites in the sidebar for you to look at but book wise:

The Bible (cf. Romans 7)
Sex is not the Problem (lust is) by Joshua Harris
The Cross Centered Life by C J Mahaney
The Enemy Within by Kris Lundgard
A Fight to the Death by Wayne A. Mack

Also, I find biographies the greatest help. Find a biography which would apply to your problem. If you can’t find any, leave a comment or send me an email and I’ll do my best ot find some for you.

Sorry, kinda went off on a tangent there!

Nos Da.

Dan

Leave a Reply

