Holy

What is it that makes the mind flip into a moment of rage? Hmm, I’ve been pondering this as the rents become so hard to handle. Every word that is spoken by a child seems to sound like “answering back” in a parents ear, or at least like a premature nagging. What really gets me is the famous one: “I don’t think it’s right for you” (which really means “you’re NOT doing it no matter how much you beg and bait.”)

It’s widely accepted today that children take on their parents’ attributes – in that case I’m not having the children. I can imagine myself now, “I really don’t think it’s right for you – you’re not doing it!”

Oh well, I’ve had my rant for the day. I love my rents to bits it’s just those times when… you understand I hope. I’m sure that they love me and are only trying to do “what’s best” for me. Sniff.

Looking round my desk I have, two mugs of extra-caffeinated coffee, one empty glass, a tonne of un-filed papers, a Jamaican Phrase book – a it dis. A pack of 50 unsharpened HB pencils two calendars still set in March, and finally just above my desk on my wall there’s a poster showing how much time I have until the AS exams. 10 in all. Oh dear.

I’ve just noticed a calculator hiding beneath the tonne of paper. Oh, and some sellotape (I’m allowed to say that, right?)

On my shelf I have a nice thick book “Ancient History” just managed to reach the first page, and also “Bible Doctrine”. Well, I’ve read a few of those pages – quite good actually. It’s by Wayne Grudem. Pick it up if you have the time, and if you have the money pick up the big one – systematic theology. Yum. That’s something to stick your teeth into.

7+9=…16

Trying to get used to using a calculator again. I stupidly dropped Mathematics. What a fool.

10! = 3,628,800

If there is anybody out there who is deciding what to take for AS level – take Mathematics, even if you hate it so much and you think that the teacher is rubbish. You’ll only wish you took it when it’s too late. I’m being serious.

– – –

I’ve been feeling a bit lost lately because I left my “Morning and Evening” by CHSpurgeon at my Bampas house. What Jesus has to say through the mouth of one man is staggering. I hope that God would use me in that way one day. But he probably won’t use a person who has a hard time seeing the bright side of things and also finds it hard to keep his mouth shut. That’s me to a Audi TT.

These verses have really helped me in the past few days:

For as [a man] thinketh in his heart, so he is.” Proverbs 23:7 (AV) and also, “Let not your heart envy sinners, but continue in the reverent and worshipful fear of the Lord all day long. For surely there is a latter end [a future and a reward], and your hope and expectation shall not be cut off.” Proverbs 23:17, 18.

What am I aiming for in this life? Am I aiming for acceptance? Am I, as Solomon puts it, envying sinners. There’s no reward in that, Solomon should know, he did right Ecclesiastes – the musings of the wisest man who ever lived. What is wrong with me? What is wrong with this “next generation”? When will I wake up to the truth of what God is calling me to do?
Constantly trying to gain acceptance and respect from the WORLD! What am I doing, I shouldn’t be trying to gain worldly acceptance, just like the Pharisees, I’ve already gained my reward. What I should be aiming for is God’s acceptance. I should be striving to be HOLY.

HOLY.

HOLY.

HOLY.

LORD, GOD ALMIGHTY.

HOLY. That’s the buzzword. That’s what we need to be in order to live lives pleasing to God our Creator. We need to stop looking after our selves – I – need to stop looking after myself. “Look at the birds of the sky: they don’t sow or reap or gather into barns, yet your heavenly Father feed them. Aren’t you worth more than they?” Matthew 6:26 (HCSB).

What am I doing? What am I saying? What am I living for? What are you living for?

Are we living for what God commanded us to live for, or what we command ourselves to live for. We have a Father who has planned our lives to the very last detail.

Does this mean that we should just sit back and enjoy the ride? No way!

Therefore, put to death whatever in you is worldly: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desire, and greed, which is idolatry…above all, [put on] love – the perfect bond of unity” Colossians 3 (HCSB)

That’s just one chapter out of many – Christianity is no Spectator Sport! Jesus Christ has redeemed us, no works can make God love us any more or any less. But now that God Almighty has adopted us, as Christians, we have given our lives back to him. We are His not unwillingly, but willingly. He loves you. He loves me. He loved us so much he was willing to suffer on the cross.

What will you, I, we do for God today?
Dan

Leave a Reply

