Try try again…?


It’s been a tough few weeks, but I’m finally starting to settle down and revise as my exams are next week.

Recently I’ve been losing sight of the glory of God and I’ve found it really hard to follow him. I don’t want to go the wrong way in my life, but the devil is so convincing.

God has been speaking to me through my troubles…

As I was sitting in my conservatory yesterday a large bumble bee came in through the double doors leading into the garden. The bee started hitting the roof (made of glass) trying to get out and I watched it for a few minutes as it got angrier and angrier about it’s predicument.

I wanted to help the bee but it wouldn’t let me, I tried and tried but it would just fly to the other side of the room.

It was at that point that God spoke to me and said, “Dan, that is exactly how you are acting and treating your problems. When you enter into a problem you will try and find your own way out, and you will always fail. Just like the bee, you could hit the problem a million times and would never get through. Dan, no matter how hard you try without my council and guidance you will never escape.”

The bee gave up and in the end I managed to get him out. God showed me, that I’ll only get out of my problems when I’ve given up and handed the problem to God. All God asks for when we find ourselves in problems is just to keep our hope in him to pray and thank him for everything he has given us, see 1 Thessalonians 5:14-22

And we urge you, brothers, warn those who are idle, encourage the timid,
help the weak, be patient with everyone.
Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong,
but always try to be kind to each other and to everyone else.
Be joyful always; pray continually;
give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
Do not put out the Spirit’s fire; do not treat prophecies with contempt.
Test everything. Hold on to the good. Avoid every kind of evil.

Later that day a wasp came in and it is still in there now, it refuses to give up and warns me off whenever I come near. A person who is sure in themselves that they will get themselves out of their situation alone will never be totally free from their situation – they will stay there until the day they die. They will be useless to Christ and will never produce the fruits that God had planned for them, they wil be salt without flavour and the only purpose for useless salt is to keep the fires warm.

Leave a Reply

